Wednesday, January 16, 2013

2013 LPGA Tour Schedule Released

The 2013 LPGA Tour schedule is finally released.  This year's schedule includes 28 tournaments and over 300 hours of television coverage for the ladies, a new record. 

The season opens once again in Australia for the ISPS Handa Women's Australian Open on February 14th.  The tour then moves to Asia for two tournaments before the start of the US season with the RR Donnelley LPGA Founders Cup in Arizona on March 14th.  Three new events have been added to the LPGA schedule, including the North Texas LPGA Shootout, the Pure Silk Bahamas LPGA Classic, and the Reignwood Pine Valley LPGA Classic in Beijing.  Each of these events mark a new era on the LPGA Tour where worldwide events will become more of the norm.

The LPGA Tour also moves to 5 major championships this season.  The Kraft Nabisco Championship will be the first major of the year on April 4-7th.  It will be played at Mission Hills Country Club in California.  The Wegmans LPGA Championship will move to Locust Hill Country Club in Pennsylvania and will take place June 6-9th.  The US Women's Open moves to storied Sebonack Country Club in New York and is June 27-30th.  The Ricoh Women's British Open will be played at the birthplace of golf, the Old Course at St. Andrews in Scotland on August 1-4th.  And finally, the LPGA's newest major, the Evian Championship, will be played on September 12-15th at The Evian Resort Golf Club in France.

After the Evian Championship, the tour moves to its fall Asian Swing, with five tournaments overseas  The ladies then return to Mexico for the Lorena Ochoa Invitational before finishing the season with the CME Group Titleholders in Florida.

This season should be one of the best in recent history on the LPGA Tour, with many young American golfers joining the tour along with the continued strong play of the veterans who have made the LPGA Tour one of the most exciting golf tours in the world.

No comments:

Post a Comment